Get to Know us !

we are MVDSI!

Max van der Stoel Institute (MVDSI) is a scientific institute within South East European University focusing on inter-disciplinary fields of social sciences and information and communication technologies.

Established as an scientific-academic unit of the university on March 2012, Max van der Stoel Scientific Institute was named according to the name of the former OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities Max van der Stoel (1924-2011) who used to be very active in the region with his diplomatic efforts on conflict prevention and as one of the main initiators for establishing the South East European University in North Macedonia.

The Institute’s key activity is research (development and implementation of the research projects). The institute includes the following research groups: Distributed Systems and Data Science Group (DSG), Social Sciences Group (SSG) and Environment and Health Group (EHG).

MVDSI is located at the South East European University (SEEU), a private-public, not for profit higher education institution, consisting of faculties, centres and institutes as its integral part, specialized in socio-economic and technological sciences. SEEU is the first university in North Macedonia to obtain the EU Commission’s “HR Excellence in Research (HRS4R)” badge.

 

Projects
+
Partnerships
Employees
+
labs
+
Publications

The Team

Staff

Veli Kreci

Associate Professor, Head of MVDSI
email: v.kreci@seeu.edu.mk

Administrative Staff

Afrim Tresi

Research Unit Coordinator
email: a.tresi@seeu.edu.mk

Irena Gjerasimovska

Coordinator Assistant
email: i.gjerasimovska@seeu.edu.mk

PhD, Master and Bachelor students

Fjollë N. Caka

PhD Candidate (EHG group)
email: fc29090@seeu.edu.mk

Korab Rrmoku

PhD Candidate (DSG group)
email: kr26918@seeu.edu.mk

Lenart Ibraimi

Intern (DSG Group)
email: l.ibraimi@seeu.edu.mk

Agon Bilalli

Intern (DSG Group)
email: ab29375@seeu.edu.mk

Visitors

Dr. Chris J. Dolan

Visiting Fulbright U.S. Scholar
Lebanon Valley College, USA
email: dolan@lvc.edu

Collaborators

Veland Ramadani

Full Professor, BE
email: v.ramadani@seeu.edu.mk

Adrian Besimi

Associate Professor, CST
email: a.besimi@seeu.edu.mk

Memet Memeti

Associate Professor, Social Sciences
email: m.memeti@seeu.edu.mk

Hajrulla Hajrullai

High Lector, Language Center
email: h.hajrullai@seeu.edu.mk

Alumni

Edita Bytyqi

PhD Candidate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Role: Summer intern at MVDSI (2018/19)
email: eb3137@columbia.edu